He loves me?!

The craziest thing I’ve ever heard is that God loves us.

“No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours though Christ, who loved us. And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow- not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s live. No power in the sky above or in the earth below- indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:37-39)

Wow. That is a powerful love.

I don’t know about other Christians, but personally I find it hardest to believe that God could love me personally. It’s easier to believe that God loves humanity in general, but not me. I know myself too well. I know the ins and outs of my flaws, the temptations I give into, my weaknesses.

I am the middle of 5 kids… ( “Good job, parents!” I hear the conservative Christian ministers call out. ;) ) Having grown up surrounded by people at home, privacy is a concept we find pretty hard to grasp, but I have been blessed in so many ways through my family. I like to say the family home is a breeding ground for patience… for sure there’s no other place that I feel my patience is more tried!

(Apparently, as I’ve been told, a favourite past time of brothers is to wind up their sisters. -_- )

Haha I love my family despite their flaws, but how could I think that my love for them could be better, more pure than that of God’s? No, that makes no sense. God loves them so much more than I ever could and yet he knows infinitely more about them: He knows their thoughts, He sees their hearts: their desires, fears and doubts. And yet, despite our flaws, He loves us still. Despite my many flaws, God loves me. He loves me. ^_^

you love me the same Machine generated alternative text:
"You see the depths of my heart 
and you love me the same"

In one episode of House M.D. there is a woman who struggles to love others, in particular her sister, because she suffers from severe OCD which causes her to focus on and remember negative memories, and everyone’s mistakes. God has a perfect memory and yet despite it all He chooses us; He sees us at our worst and He sees us at our best and loves us at both.

His opinion's the only one that mattersMachine generated alternative text:
His infallible, unbiased opinion of us is the only one that matters.

Maybe I will struggle all my life to accept this and I certainly don’t think I’ll ever understand, but I can have peace in my heart and know that even if I am feeling unloved and alone, He calls me His child.

God bless you :) xxx

 

“The LORD Himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged” (Deuteronomy 31:8)

Leave a Reply

