Amazing Grace

“Amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me; I once was lost, but now am found, was blind but now I see”

Sometimes people assume that you become a Christian and all your problems go away. It is true, there are some incredible stories of people coming to faith in Jesus and having their lives turned around miraculously. Amazing Grace is a beautiful and well-known hymn, written by a man involved in the slave trade who was convicted of his sin and turned to Jesus. But what about those who have never had these extraordinary, sudden encounters?

Having grown up in a Christian household, I can’t exactly pinpoint a date that I decided I wanted to enter into a personal relationship with the living God.

Romans 10:9 says, “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter how you came into faith, only that you did.

When I was a child I went through a phase where I would (re)commit my life to God several times a day. I was insecure (I still am :L), and filled with fear that I ‘hadn’t done it right’. In some ways this is a good thing because I was realising that I needed God constantly and that there were things in my life which couldn’t please God (there still are). “Perfect love casts out fear” (1 John 4:18) Yet this is a promise, a truth, in God’s word which I can trust in. “So if the Son sets you free, you are truly free” (John 8:36)
Some days I still struggle with doubts that I am a ‘real Christian’, but this means I am constantly examining my faith and checking that my life is looking daily more like Jesus’.

But I do not need to fear. There are many things I don’t understand about God and the Bible, but one thing I do know is God is love and I am His child. I do not need to live afraid.

God bless you ^_^ xxx

I love this channel on YouTube, enjoy! :)

Leave a Reply

