What is beauty?

I’ve been thinking a lot about beauty recently.

What does it mean to be beautiful? What is my ideal body size and shape? What does God say about beauty?

I have never thought of myself as beautiful, of course I have the occasional selfie where I think “yeah, I actually look okay in that one”, but I’d never call myself beautiful. I have been very fortunate to have been blessed by kind souls who make it their hobby apparently to compliment me on my appearance. xD

Actually at one point I really didn’t care for this, but was only interested in being admired for my achievements, I wonder when I changed my mind…

If I’m honest I consider my low self-esteem ungodly. I do not think that my opinion of myself and how God sees me match up. And this is true of everyone, so I decided to look at what the bible says about beauty.

I was reminded of Timothy 2:8-10

8 In every place of worship, I want men to pray with holy hands lifted up to God, free from anger and controversy. 9 And I want women to be modest in their appearance. They should wear decent and appropriate clothing and not draw attention to themselves by the way they fix their hair or by wearing gold or pearls or expensive clothes. 10 For women who claim to be devoted to God should make themselves attractive by the good things they do.

Of course God does not want us to make ourselves physically unattractive, He wants us to enjoy our appearance but he doesn’t want us to be focusing solely on our reflection in the mirror.

Whether you think you’re great, or you’re constantly picking out things you’d like to change, you’re still thinking of yourself, instead of focusing on your heavenly father. If only we could learn to appreciate the gift of beauty for what it is. A gift, from our infinitely generous father.

James 1:17 says, “Whatever is good and perfect comes down to us from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow.”

Isn’t that awesome, that He never changes! He is the same yesterday, today and forever (Hebrews 13:8). We can always rely on Him, we need to listen to what He says about us, rather than listening to the voices in our heads or in the media, whose opinions are constantly changing.

So what does God say?

He says you are fearfully and wonderfully made! (Psalms 139:14)

Whilst man looks at the outward appearance, God looks at the heart. (1 Samuel 16:7)

Fear of the LORD trumps physical beauty any day, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.” (Proverbs 31:30)

Look at this, it’s the average face of women in 40 countries and look how beautiful they ALL are.beauty

Each of us is created unique by God, He intended us to have that nose, those freckles, that physique. God does not make mistakes.

Let’s focus on the gifts He’s blessed us with.

So maybe your thighs jiggle or are covered in stretch marks, look how you can climb mountains or run with them!

Maybe you have acne, well see the joy you can give to someone when you smile at them and they can’t help but smile back.

So what if you feel too tall, you can be a protective and reassuring presence for someone. And too small? Well, who else is as good at hide and seek? Only you can fit in that hidey-hole. ;)

Seriously though, our bodies aren’t perfect, but look what you can do with them!

God bless you, beautiful <3

Leave a Reply

