Give thanks – Day 2

I am so thankful that I have a roof over my head. I know I tell myself I don’t take it for granted, but I really do. I’ve never been without a home. Of course I have stayed in a tent for extended periods, but I’ve always known there’s a home for me to return to when I get fed up of camping (not that I tend to). It’s not like the dire situation that many people have to exist in. At the moment there’s an exodus of refugees leaving Syria because of the war (08/09/2015), and they’re arriving in Europe, having left everything they’ve ever known behind. I can’t imagine how terrifying that must be. Or thinking more locally, every winter homeless people in my area freeze to death because they can’t find shelter. It frustrates me so much, I mean I can help some homeless people, let them know they’re not invisible but I can’t get them off the streets, my attempt to help the situation doesn’t even make the slightest dent in the issue. Hopefully, as I pray and ask, God will develop a deeper appreciation for the material things He’s provided me with, and give me more compassion for those in need. ❤

serenity

Leave a Reply

