What is a Christian?

What comes to mind when you hear the word “Christian”?

Perhaps you picture a religious, righteous, slightly judgemental person.

And you know what, you would probably be right. I mean the term “Christian” was originally coined to mean little Christ, because the early church made it their mission and purpose to imitate Jesus. And that should be our mission too. So, where’s the evidence? Where are these little Jesus clones?

We try, well I can’t really speak for all people who call themselves a Christian, but we should all be trying to imitate Jesus.

But we’re not perfect, we’re not superhuman, we do make mistakes.

Honestly, we’re just normal people, just like anyone else, who’ve accepted God’s grace. We don’t deserve it. We’re just as broken as anyone else on this planet, and very aware of it.

Jesus said, “Healthy people don’t need a doctor-sick people do,” and, “I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.” (Matthew 9:12,13)

Church is supposed to be a hospital for the broken, not a place for good people to hang out. How many times have people been put off church because they don’t feel ‘good enough’?

I am just another broken person, saved by the grace of God. *^_^*

I don’t go to church because I’m a good person, I go because I am weak, broken and in desperate need of God.

All I know is that although not all Christians agree on all things, and we prefer certain parts of the Bible and ignore other parts and we mess up, even when we try, God will be faithful to forgive us and help us to try again when we come to Him, repenting and asking for forgiveness. But don’t discount Christianity because of the poor example that we sometimes set, read the Bible and decide for yourself if it’s worth it. Although I have heard it said that “you’re the only bible that they might read”.

The world is so messed up and it is difficult to put your trust in people who often let us down, even when they try not to. Often I don’t know who I can trust and who I can talk to. But we can put our trust in God.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Seek His will in all you do, and He will show you which path to take.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

You can always trust in God, He is infallible and always keeps His promises. Perhaps if you feel as I do and don’t know who you can turn to, you should try bringing it to God first and ask Him to show you who loves Him, who you can talk to without fear.

There are people out there you can open up to. If you need to talk then you can send me a message or something. I can’t promise I’ll be able to help, but I can try.

“Cast your anxiety on Him because He cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7)

Bring all your worries, concerns and struggles to Him before anyone else.

Christians are just broken people who realise they need God.

God bless you :) xxx

Leave a Reply

