Give thanks – Day 17

I’ve not had much experience with death. Well, in a way I have, but the last family member(s) that I’ve known to die was when I was about 9 or 10 and it was my dad’s grandparents. My family hasn’t had any major (physical) health issues. I can only thank my heavenly Father for that. :)
Also though, my parents have a very healthy and godly attitude towards health and illness. If you’re sick, first you should pray, and also you shouldn’t make a bigger deal than necessary about it.
Although, I have a slightly comical story relating to the second point. When I was about 8, we were on a family holiday. Just before lunch I’d been playing in the park and my parents were calling me over to eat, but I didn’t want to stop playing. I kept playing, swinging on the monkey bars…and then fell off. I fractured my elbow, but my parents told me to stop making such a fuss and told me that it was fine. It wasn’t. :L Eventually they took me to the hospital.
My parents believe that there are spiritual reasons behind every illness. Maybe I believe them, I don’t know, but I do acknowledge that there is definitely more to life than what we can simply see with our eyes, telescopes or microscopes; Ephesians 6:12 says:

For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places

Thank you God for having your hand over my family and myself in this way. Thank you for keeping us physically healthy, and I pray we’d continue to trust in you in sickness and in health. :)

17

Leave a Reply

