Give thanks – Day 19

Which one book has had the most impact on you in your life? Perhaps you’ll go for a classic: HP, LOTR, or Hunger Games? I don’t know, but the one book which has impacted me more deeply and further than probably even I know, is the bible.

My university CU does an outreach event every Saturday night/Sunday morning, where we give water, biscuits and jam sandwiches to (drunk) people at the on-campus club.
One guy came up to us one week at the ‘water table’ and asked some very difficult questions. I felt very challenged by some of what he was saying, I left after the event to go home feeling very condemned, angry and upset at myself, with violent and dark thoughts and intentions running in my mind.
I felt quite attacked when he said, “You call yourself a Christian, yet you’ve never read the whole bible?!”
In hindsight, I realise I had absolutely no reason to feel attacked, but I did feel very condemned in the heat of the moment. The bible is the word of God, and yet having read the entire book means nothing to Him.
He is interested in the state of our hearts.
Of course, we need to be reading the bible and praying to Him regularly though.
Perhaps that’s the real reason behind why I felt so attacked, because I’d let my life become too busy and recently, instead of  turning to His word whenever I felt low, I’d turn to other things.

Although I am no longer with him, my ex-boyfriend and I used to read the bible together each week, which was awesome. It definitely brought us closer together and helped us to get to know one another better.

Having a mood disorder and anxiety, I have often found comfort and hope in the words of the bible. For example, quite a few times people have said I should read Psalm 91 when I feel in a bad way. Verse 14 and 15 say:

The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.
    I will protect those who trust in my name.
When they call on me, I will answer;
    I will be with them in trouble.
    I will rescue and honour them

Thank you God for your word, and that in the UK it is so easy to get hold of a copy and we don’t have to fear for our lives if we own one. Thank you for the hope and comfort I have found in its words and I thank you  that it will continue to encourage me. Help me to share the encouragement and hope that I have found with others.

Leave a Reply

