Jesus carries the broken

“I’ve done too many bad things to be a Christian.” “You call yourself a Christian?! You used to sleep around more than any of us!”

I didn’t chose to follow Jesus because I’m a pretty good person and I’ve now earned my place in this ‘elite group in society’. Christianity is only for those that have realised they can’t make it on their own. I’ve simply given up struggling alone, now I have Jesus to help me along.

footprints

Most people will probably have heard of the ‘Footprints in the sand’ poem, where a man’s life with God is represented by two sets of footprints in the sand along the beach. It ends with:

“During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints in the sand it was then that I carried you.”

When people ask me ‘why do you believe in God?’ it’s a difficult question for me, as there are key moments and ways God has clearly worked in my life which immediately spring to mind when they ask. But it is a very personal, and emotionally raw response that I would give them in the ideal situation, if I felt I could give it. But I’m scared. Scared of their response. What if they deem my faith void because of my flaws and the mental war and habits I am still battling daily? But surely the risk would be worth it? What if my being open and vulnerable in that way helped them to get to know Jesus better? There is more at stake here than we will ever see or know, people’s souls; eternity is at stake. In Ephesians 6:12, Paul describes life here on earth as a spiritual battle, one we must fight every single day of our lives.

“For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.”

We each have our own individual demons we fight against daily, for me this would be drinking too much alcohol and hurting myself when I wrongly think that’s the solution to the emotional pain I feel. But never think that you’re fighting alone. Psalm 46 says that God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. You see? We’re far from alone, God is all-powerful and he holds us in his hand. We will trip up, we will fail. We’re still learning!  But we have an all-loving father in heaven who actually really wants to help us, he doesn’t expect us to figure this out alone, he knows we can’t do it. Life wasn’t designed to be done in solitude, but with his help and surrounded by other people here on earth who have also twigged that it’s impossible when done alone.

“We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves.” (2 Corinthians 4:7)

So there’s no pressure to be perfect, we are all broken- let’s stop pretending otherwise. :) God is glorified through the tangles of our messy lives.

God bless you, lean on Him this week. :) xoxo

Leave a Reply

