Love yourself-IV

Day 4: My favourite three features

Over the past year or so I’ve come so far in learning to love myself more. I guess I could say I like myself physically, but I’m still learning to like who I am as a person, just gotta keep persevering with that I suppose.

12391170_10205679700411445_4468466760697213364_n.jpg¬†1. My mouth. People often ask me, “what happened to your lip?” because I have this pale¬†line in the middle of my bottom lip which is sometimes confused for a scar when, in fact, it is more of a birthmark. And I like it. I also like how I look when I smile. It makes me super sad when you hear of people who have been told their smile is ugly, so they don’t smile so much. It breaks my heart. Please be kind to one another,¬†“encourage each other and build each other up” (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

2. My hair. I have pretty long, brown hair (although I used to be able to sit on it) I guess brown is only half true though. I love when it catches the light and you can see all these auburn and reddish hues. *^_^*

3. ¬†I was struggling just then to think of what I could write for this third one, because although I don’t think I’d really change anything about my body, nothing else really stands out ahead of anything else. I like my scars? That sounds so strange, and if I really do then surely I wouldn’t struggle to hide them all the time? The features I have chosen are the three things that really set me apart physically from other people. The scars I carry, both ones I inflicted on myself and from accidents I’ve had, tell part of my story. They show I’m not perfect, I’m in fact quite broken. And yet, God is glorified in our brokenness, His love covers our wounds, Romans ¬†8:38 says nothing can separate us from His love.

We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves. (2 Corinthians 4:7)

4. Oooh I just thought of another, though. My eyes. I think I have some pretty awesome, eyes. Once my dad told me I should never marry anyone who didn’t appreciate my eyes. They are green/hazel with flecks of bronze, encircled with brown. My right eye has an interesting darker region, which makes it look like I have a cat’s pupil.

I remember before, actually not¬†that¬†that long ago, when I wanted to look completely different. I used to think how I either wanted to be African, because they look so beautiful with their lovely dark skin and strong, thick hair. Or, at basically the opposite end of the spectrum, I really wanted the pale skin and thick, curly ginger hair of the Irish (I think it came from a deep appreciation of the Irish accent :3) Now, I can say that I acknowledge I am not ‘perfect’, yet I am. I may not have the perfect body that magazines portray, it is perfect for me. I can do so much with it and I’m proud of what it has already achieved. I am not so thin as I have been in the past, when I was restricting what I ate, but now I have substance to me. I’m more than skin and bones and although I still feel the cold and occasionally I feel the effects of Raynaud’s, it is not so frequent or severe as it was before.

God bless you :) xoxox

P.S. Please don’t forget how precious and beautiful you are, reader. ‚ô•

17299-you-are-beautiful

Love yourself ‚ô•

Leave a Reply

