Love yourself – V

Day 5: My favourite Bible verses

So, here are a few of my favourite Bible verses. I don’t have many verses memorised, but these are some I can sometimes remember (depending on whether my memory is having a good day ;) ). I like to think about them when I am in difficult situations. :)

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. (Romans 12:1-2)

This is so important, it’s something I talk about lots, about being counter-cultural. If are Jesus’ disciples, we should be following His commandments, it should be evident that we are not like people who don’t know Him by how we live our lives. I still struggle in so many ways to do the right thing, but I am trying and little by little hopefully my life will resemble something more like Jesus’, the more I rely on God.

We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves. (2 Corinthians 4:7)

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

I love these two verses. I sometimes catch myself thinking that “I’m too broken for God to use”, or that if people knew certain things about me, then that could negatively affect their opinion of Christians and, therefore, God, when in fact, God can appear even more glorious through my brokenness. He is awesome, and the fact that He loves me and desires a relationship with me is just incredible; I mean me, as broken and dirty as I feel! He loves me. There is nothing I could do or change about myself that could make him love me any more, or any less. He’s so good! *^_^*

Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you. (Hebrews 13:5)

This is so encouraging for anyone, but especially if you suffer from any form of mental illness, you can feel more lonely and separated from other people. Sometimes you can feel alone, even when you’re surrounded by people who care for you. Remembering this verse can give me strength. It can be so hard to be a Christian when you’re not fully well in your mind, you don’t always know what is true and you can get confused(and sometimes you don’t even realise it!). It takes a lot of faith to just keep going, to believe sometimes.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. (Ephesians 6:12)

This may sound weird to you, definitely if you’re not a Christian, and even some Christians are pretty sceptical about ‘all that spiritual stuff’, but it’s in the bible so… :L It can really help sometimes to remember that it’s not because I’m weak that I am ill, it is due to forces outside of my control. Sure you can eat certain foods, exercise, and get enough sunlight, but there are chemicals in our brains and spiritual battles raging within your soul which no eye can see.

There are loads more great Bible verses that have really helped me through some tough things. And there have equally been many times that I relied on myself and maybe the outcome would have been different if I had stopped for a moment and reminded myself of God’s truth, His goodness and His love for me.

Stay strong, and keep fighting. ♥

Love yourself ♥

self esteem.png

Leave a Reply

