Love yourself – XIV

Day 14: Things I call myself which aren’t true.

Just thought I’d take a break from revision to write something. It feels like it’s never going to end but it’ll all be over in 10 days (wahoo!!) and then I can get back to writing posts more regularly :)

There’s not a human around who has not been bullied at some point (apart from hermits, okay :L). I know I have anyway, thankfully not too severely. It makes me so sad, and angry to hear of yet another teenager who has ended their life because they were the victim of this. And yet, how often do we bully ourselves? This can also lead to suicide. It’s just as serious, perhaps even more so because people can witness you being bullied by others, but they can’t get inside your head and hear you being mean to yourself, can they?

I’ve always thought that my biggest bully was myself, but this isn’t how it’s meant to be. Nor how it could be. We should be our own best friend. At the end of the day, the only one (other than God) who’ll always be there with you, right to the bitter end, is you.

Just please try and be kind to yourself. <3

So, here are some of the mean things I say to myself throughout the day, and things I could try and say instead:

I’m stupid I am an intelligent being capable of knowing and doing many things.

I’m worthless I am valuable to my friends, family, and to God. (Luke 12:6-7)

No one likes me I have many friends, and people in my life who care for me.

They’re laughing/whispering about me It’s not all about you, Sara-Kate. They’re most likely laughing at a joke one of them just cracked. :)

I look horrible, and ugly I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14)

I’m not lovable God loves me. “God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8)

I’m horrible and not capable of doing anything good, not capable of loving anyone But you do, Sara-Kate, you do love people. You are kind and you like to help people, to share your love and joy with those around you.

I’m not worthy of their attention/I don’t deserve the help Every person is worth infinitely more than they could possible imagine to God and the beauty of it is that we really do not deserve it, it’s called Grace, dear.

I’m boring I am one of the most fun people I know xD (or maybe just a bit crazy ;)) I am just hilarious hehehe a few people on separate occasions have said I’d be a good YouTuber because of my energy (actually, this is something I really badly want to do, but it’s scary!! In fact, if any of you have a YouTube channel, I’d love to hear how it is, especially when you first start :))

I’m never going to change/ get better- I’m gonna be stuck in this rut, with these problems for the rest of my life and it’s inevitable that I will kill myself one day… “This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun” (2 Corinthians 5:17) “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed” (John 8:36) I am set free, I am no longer enslaved to my bad habits. I am already ‘better’- I have Jesus.

 I’m the problem child Well, that’s just not true now is it, Sara-Kate. Don’t be silly, you are very precious and loved daughter of your parents. They really care for you and appreciate how you help around the house.

Whoever is in Christ is a new person. The old has gone, the new has come!

You are not the same person you were before you met Christ, you are a new creation and you should change the way you talk about yourself. Leave those labels behind and let God give you new, better labels.

Please try and be kind to yourself, and I’ll try too.

Much love, God bless xoxox

Love yourself ♥

Leave a Reply

