When your mind plays tricks on you

Sometimes it can be so easy to fall back into our familiar thought patterns, even if they’re wrong. It can be hard to challenge them.

This evening I went to church with my boyfriend. After the service he was chatting to various people whilst I would just be sitting next to him, silent. If seemed like he was being approached by so many people, whilst no one seemed interested in talking to me. From this I concluded that nobody loved me or cared for me.

I was entirely convinced and I withdrew to the toilets. As tears rolled down my cheeks, these thoughts, these lies, raced around my head.
But I didn’t recognise what they were. That they were lies. Not until later, anyway.
I mentioned this to my boyfriend later on, after he’d been asking why I was sad. He informed me that actually no one had initiated conversations with me, but actually that it had been him starting to chat to them. I guess what I’m trying to say is, we can often rely on our interpretations of situations to understand what other people think of us, but it isn’t that hard to misinterpret and draw wrong conclusions.

Just be careful and have people who you can speak honestly to and who’ll tell you the truth no matter how hard it is sometimes to hear.

Take care and God bless xoxox

2 thoughts on “When your mind plays tricks on you

    • Sara-Kate :) says:

      Yeah perhaps they weren’t from my mind, sometimes I wonder where horrible thoughts come from. Seems like they appear from nowhere lol :L I guess it doesn’t matter so much where they come from, only whether you believe them or feed them :p thank you for taking the time to read my post!! :D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

