“New Year, New Me”?

So 2017 has just begun, everyone is making New Year’s resolutions that will most likely last a couple of weeks. Should I make any? In previous years, I’ve made lists of all the things in my life that aren’t how I want them to be, and ways I’ll become a ‘better person’. It doesn’t usually last very long. I put a lot of pressure on myself to fulfill all these goals in the new year, and the list is usually too long and I get overwhelmed with guilt when I fail (unsurprisingly) to do them all.

This year, I’m not putting a lot of pressure on myself to change and become the ‘perfect human being’. In 2017, I am simply making it my goal to survive. To take better care of my mental health. This is going to be a priority for me.

The past few years have been pretty rough for me. I’ve struggled to stay on top of everything, to get through university and I’ve battled against myself for so long. I’ve been my own worst enemy, but I have survived so far, and I can do it again.

This year I hope I can learn to accept my own limitations and hopefully become better friends with myself. I have already started it as well. The other day I filled in a self-referral online for a local Depression and Anxiety service, so hopefully I can get some additional support. It is really hard for me to acknowledge when I am struggling and to ask for help when I really need it. So this is a big thing for me to have done.

So here’s to the new year, and to surviving.

Shout out to anyone else who’s struggling, we can do this. We can survive. xoxox

Leave a Reply

